Given the location next to another Historic Shop, the Ulisses glove shop, it’s unlikely that you will not notice this line of façades. Two shop entrances of rare beauty. The goldsmith’s store that existed here before was one of the first houses to take up residence in this section of the Carmo wall, which received shop spaces much later than the rest of the street. Alfredo Pinto da Cunha, a goldsmith from Porto, purchased Joalharia do Carmo from its founder Raúl Pereira in the late 1920s. It has remained in the same family untill 2020. In 1925 the architect Norte Júnior produced the design for the iconic Art Nouveau façade, which remains unchanged. It features prominently the jewellery’s store’s trademark Portuguese coat of arms without the bordure, but featuring the seven castles, on a Cross of Christ and set in a heart.
In 2020 it is acquired by the Valor do Tempo group. Traditional Portuguese filigree remains the main protagonist. The interior space, despite some refurbishment, has not lost its original design, and the furniture is still the same as it was in the early days, although it has been renovated in terms of color. The display cabinets and doors, as are the large central table with the marble top, the credenzas with mounted mirrors, the Baccarat crystal chandeliers and the winding staircase.
Jewellery and gold/silversmith work